Tuesday TLC: Elemis Pro-Collagen Marine Cream

13Jun11

 Due to an ill-advised chicken salad at the weekend, I have been struck down with food poisoning. Instead of spending Saturday night under the stars at Kensington Roof Gardens, I was forced to dash home and acquaint myself with Mrs Shanks…

I won’t go into the messy details of my symptoms but needless to say that: (a) I didn’t get to see any flamingos; (b) the symptoms have left my poor skin feeling dry and parched; and (c) I’m feeling quite sorry for itself.

So when I nearly traumatised Rani (my skittish White Persian) with the pale face and mad Edward Scissorhands hair, I decided that some TLC was in order.

Recently I wrote an article for a glossy magazine on popular skincare brands; one of the highly rated brands was Elemis, and in particular their Pro-Collagen Marine Cream.

While researching the Pro-Collagen Marine Cream, I was so impressed that I immediately rushed out to buy a jar. But somehow it got buried under the mountain of products from my BBS (Big Boots Shop). And I completely forgot about it until the other day…

This cult best seller took three years of research to develop and is said to transform complexions in just over two weeks. The cream uses a powerful antioxidant marine extract that strengthens the skin’s collagen. Clinical trials actually showed a reduction in wrinkle depth by 75% and increased hydration by 45%. Hello!!! At the moment my skin needs all the hydration it can get, and if it halts those pesky fine lines in their tracks, then what better time to put it to the test?

The first thing you notice when you open the jar is the delicate pretty fragrance: rose and lavender, light but not overpowering, it brought back childhood memories of my mum religiously applying her Ponds cream. The texture is quite silky, similar to the Oil of Olay lotion; it glides on and is easily absorbed.

My skin is normal to dry and is quite happy lapping up moisture-heavy creams. I wasn’t sure whether this was going to be too light to have any effect. But having applied it twice a day for two days now, my skin definitely feels a lot smoother and hydrated. It’s too early to tell whether it will reduce any fine lines, but I will keep you posted.

The Pro-Collagen Marine Cream scores top points as my rescue remedy and has overtaken my beloved Creme de la Mer (which seems to have stopped working on my skin). It’s lovely if your skin needs some additional TLC, but it’s also light enough to be used as a daily moisturiser and make-up base. Although this has a hefty price tag, you only need a small amount, so it should last you ages. For all you hard core Elemis fans out there, there is a limited edition pack of the Pro-Collagen Marine Cream available with the Cellular Recovery Skin Bliss Capsules for £128 saving you £59.

Although I didn’t expect to notice a difference overnight, my skin felt surprisingly refreshed and hydrated the next morning, banishing all signs of Edward Scissorhands. And Rani almost deigned to recognise me.

Pro-Collagen Marine Cream £75, Anti-Ageing Super Duo available from 1st  June – 30th  June 2011, RRP £127.66 (worth over £186 / saving over £59), available online at www.timetospa.co.uk or fron Elemis spas, salons and selected department stores. For your nearest stockist call 01278 727830

No Responses Yet to “Tuesday TLC: Elemis Pro-Collagen Marine Cream”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

